If you have been charged with any traffic violation in New Jersey and desire the best representation in order to minimize the impact a conviction may have on your insurance rates or to avoid suspension, please call us for a free consultation. Our office handles all types of traffic violations.
If you are convicted of a moving violation, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will add points to your driving record. In some cases, you can get points deducted. Some common NJ moving violations (with statutes) and points are:
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-129 Leaving scene of an accident (injury) 8 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-96 Reckless driving 5 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-98 Speeding (30 mph over the limit) 5 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-89 Tailgating 5 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-128.1 Improper passing of school bus 5 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-85 Improper passing 4 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-98 Speeding (15-29 mph over limit) 4 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-123 Improper turn 3 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-88 Unsafe lane change 2 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-98 Speeding (1-14 mph over limit) 2 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-97 Careless driving 2 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-129 Leaving scene of an accident (no injury) 2 Points
- N.J.S.A. 39:4-105 Failure to stop for traffic light 2 Points
Collecting 12 points or more within a two-year period will result in your license being suspended. There are three ways, however, for you to get get points deducted from your NJMVC driving record:
- If you complete the Driver Improvement Program, you can get three points removed.
- For every one year you go without getting a new moving violation, three points will be removed.
- If you take a voluntary MVC-approved defensive driving course, you can have two points removed from your license (but this reduction is available only once every five years).
Contesting your ticket – You may be able to challenge the prosecution’s evidence. The radar gun that was used to register your speed, for example, may have been defective, or surveillance camera footage may cast doubt on an officer’s contention that you ran a traffic light.
Seeking a dismissal or reduction of your charge – If you were charged with multiple traffic violations, the prosecution may be willing to drop certain charges in exchange for you pleading guilty to the most serious violation. Sometimes, the prosecution may dismiss a violation if you agree to participate in a NJ driver improvement program. The prosecution sometimes may agree to reduce a moving violation (such as speeding) to a non-moving violation such as Unsafe Operation.
If you would like to speak with one of our firm’s attorneys to discuss any traffic ticket(s), you can reach us at (973) 377-7800. We offer free initial consultations and are available 24 hours a day.